The Third Encounter ....... How to Solve:-> sqlplus: command not found error

·

2 min read

The Problem

After I had solved ORA-01034 I created a table then took a break. Coming back to my laptop, I decided to close some apps I had running but they weren't responding.

My VM wasn’t responding so I decided to just close it without shutting it down properly. I got impatient so I tried to end the process using Task Manager. Even after I did this, which is always my go-to solution to close stubborn apps, it didn’t work.

So I decided to hot shutdown my laptop. By the time I started my laptop and logged on to my oracle database I got this error:

bash: sqlplus: command not found.

Not this again, I lamented.

The Solution

So I cracked my knuckles like they do in movies. And I went online to research the best way to solve this. I got my solution here: dba-oracle.com/t_sqlplus_command_not_found...

So I ran the commands below :

ORACLE_SID=orcl export ORACLE_SID ORACLE_HOME=/u01/app/oracle/product/12.1.0/dbhome_1 export ORACLE_HOME PATH=$PATH:$ORACLE_HOME/bin export PATH

[oracle@Iamgo0ke Desktop]$ sqlplus

Enter user-name: system

Enter password:

Last Successful login time: Wed Aug 25 2021 16:57:09 -04:00

Connected to: Oracle Database 12c Enterprise Edition Release 12.1.0.1.0 - 64bit Production With the Partitioning, OLAP, Advanced Analytics and Real Application Testing options IT WORKS!!!!!!!!!!!!

So to save my settings permanently, because all I have done is to effect this setting in the current session, is to enter this command:

-> vim ~/.bashrc

Type -> i

To insert then paste the settings above in BOLD under “user specific alias and functions”. It should look like this:

#.bashrc

#Source global definitions if [ -f /etc/bashrc ]; then . /etc/bashrc fi

#User specific aliases and functions

ORACLE_SID=orcl export ORACLE_SID ORACLE_HOME=/u01/app/oracle/product/12.1.0/dbhome_1 export ORACLE_HOME PATH=$PATH:$ORACLE_HOME/bin export PATH ~
~
~
~
~
~
~
~
~
"~/.bashrc" 14L, 269C

Enter-> Esc on the keyboard

and

Type -> :wq

then press ENTER.

So now our setting is permanent.