Solved: How To Increase Your Swapfile

·

1 min read

Solved: How To Increase Your Swapfile

Welcome to another new week for us fellas.

A few days ago, I assisted a friend to install Oracle Software after installing Oracle DB 12c on his Linus guest OS when I encountered an error. The swapfile size did not meet the prerequisite so I needed to increase it before I could continue.

I am sharing this with everyone hoping it helps some rookie somewhere, somehow.

Here is how it's done ->

Open terminal with root privilege

Check the status of my swapfile->

swapon -s

I put off the swapfile->

swapoff -a

Then I increased the swapfile to 4GB->

dd if=/dev/zero of=/swapfile bs=1M count=4096

Enter this command to make the swapfle usable->

mkswap /swapfile

Turn on swapfile->

swapon /swapfile

Check the status to confirm (Always confirm)->

swapon -s

Now, you can go ahead and continue the installation.